A well respected authority on Web 2.0

In my attempt to make it easier to understand what Web 2.0 is, I turn to the most well respected authority on the matter and his name is Tim O'Reilly, from O'Reilly Media. His 5 page piece on "Design Patterns & Business Models for the Next Generation Software" explains Web 2.0 applications and business concept in detail.

However, if you put me on a scale of 1 to 10. 10 being the most techie web-orientated (hardware and software) then I would be about a 5.5. On business models using hardware and software for the web, I would be a 9.5.

This article to me, amazing as it was to read, gave me brain freezes over the really hardcore techie parts, that my husband and I leave to our key developers to educate us (programming languages, design patterns and hardware etc.)

I will attempt to explain, and refer to Tim's article a lot on this blog. My intended audience target are people who would be a 2 or 3 out of ten and understand some of my blog so far. Stay tuned.

2 Responses to “A well respected authority on Web 2.0”

  1. Marquee Says:

    The reason you got brain freezes was because the concepts here are so out there that it’s hard for anyone to really understand them.

  2. web2point0blankie Says:

    🙂 hopefully i can simplify it, feel free to give me ‘reality checks’ 😉 with any of the concepts i talk about, but i suppose i am a ‘social advocate’ because i had a personal need for information and the desire for non-alienation, and this new hype is helping my cause. i think trying to bring products that are too complicated to the general market don’t gain momentum. I am trying to find examples that are doing a great job of the general market embracing their offering, maybe flickr is one? there is also questions out there if myspace will be a stayer…

Leave a Reply

